View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:01 am



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Lots of samples...... 
Author Message
CASA maestro

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:05 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johannesburg
No doubt lots of folks here use samples in their work.

There's a huuuuuuuge list of sample sites at the MIO forums here

Hope this is useful. If anyone actually wades through all these sites, perhaps you could post here to recommend the top ones....

Regards - Colin


Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:50 pm
Profile WWW
CASA regular

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 5:40 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Dudes in dungarees, the occasional tumbleweed
Post 
the same list was on neonwaveproductions.com
class stuff.. huge amount of samples

_________________
|www.tamusic.co.nr|
|myspace profile|


Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:31 am
Profile YIM WWW
CASA regular

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 5:40 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Dudes in dungarees, the occasional tumbleweed
Post 
Alot of the samples aren't the best quality, but most artists (in all forms of music) will definitly find a few gems.. plus beacuse these samples are all public Domain, you shouldn't have any Copyright Issues either, so it's all fair game :wink:

_________________
|www.tamusic.co.nr|
|myspace profile|


Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:12 pm
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 6:24 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Johannesburg
Hi

How do you guys keep your samples organised, I'm finding it quite tricky having 3 different soft samplers with different and proprietary file formats. Ideally I'd like to be able to make this process as transparent as possible.

I guess I need to look at the permutations and get a bit deeper into the products....

Gregor


Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:59 pm
Profile
CASA maestro

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:05 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johannesburg
Post 
Hi gregor,

You didn't say which samplers you use, but in many cases (as I understand), samplers load instrument files which are configured to use certain samples. In the case of EXS24 in Logic, the .exs instruments simply point at samples wherever they are on your drives.

So, if you wanted to use the same samples in Halion or Kontakt, you could probably just use the same set of samples in the instruments for each softsampler. Obviously, you shouldn't make any destructive changes to the samples themselves as this would affect all instruments globally.

Keep your instrument files in the relative folder for each sampler, and keep the samples in a central area, preferably on a separate hard drive.

Hope this makes sense....
Colin


Sun Jan 15, 2006 2:59 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.