View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:16 am



Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Logic 8 
Author Message
CASA maestro

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:05 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johannesburg
Post 
Quote:
Cubase is only for people who can't afford Logic!

Actually, Logic Studio 8 is so cheap and such good value, that there's no excuse NOT to get it.

Here's some more Logic 8 tips:
There are many areas where you can [ctrl]-click to get a contextual menu, with many options for wherever you are.

For example, if you [ctrl]-click on the Transport bar (in the display area), you get a menu which offers lots of options including [Customize Transport bar]. You can then select an arrangement of buttons and functions which will be shown.

If you [ctrl]-click on a Track name in the arrange window, you can [Configure Track Header] and switch on/off all the buttons such as Freeze/Solo etc.

If you [ctrl]-click in the Toolbar at the top of the Arrange window, you can [Customize toolbar] and add/delete lots of buttons to get a default set that you find useful.

After all this work, use [File] menu -> [Save as template] and name it accordingly. You can then set this to be your default song (like Autoload used to be in Logic 7).

Regards - Colin


Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:56 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Joburg
All this talk about Logic and Cubase, what is this??? How can anybody who uses a computer program to generate sounds really call themselves a composer.

What happened to the good old piano?


Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:00 pm
Profile
CASA maestro

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:05 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johannesburg
Post 
Bliksem:
How can anyone who doesn't use a computer actually make a living as a composer in this day and age?

But, you were just stirring . . . weren't you?

Reminds me of a true story of Hector Berlioz, the composer, who was walking along through a small town, writing occasionally with pen and paper. Suddenly, the local police arrested him for being a spy.

He protested and asked why he was being accused of such a thing. The police said "We have observed you for hours, walking everywhere and making notes - therefore you must be a spy."

Berlioz explained that he was a composer and was writing down musical ideas. The police replied: "Do you take us for fools? Everyone knows that in order to compose, you need a piano!!"


The only difference these days is that computers have replaced pen and paper.

Right folks.......back to Logic 8


Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:50 pm
Profile WWW
CASA regular

Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 4:39 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Johannesburg
Hey Bliksem, howz yer piano chops, got any really cool Lydian Jazz Fusion lines you wanna share with us computer geeks!

_________________
Do what you can with what you have where you are...


Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:02 pm
Profile WWW
CASA maestro

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:05 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johannesburg
Post 
I had a query about Logic 8 which I posted at Apple's Logic forums:
    Let's say I have an arrange window with the Media section open on [Library]
    As I select different tracks, the browser changes to show possible
    settings for that track, and it defaults to the Instrument for
    example.

    If I click on the 2nd or 3rd slot in the mixer, the Library now
    changes to reflect whatever is loaded there eg a Compressor or Delay.

    So far so good (in fact....very nice!)

    Now, I want to keep playing an instrument, while I find a reverb
    setting on a Bus or Aux channel strip. The only way I can get the
    Library to show the relevant settings for the reverb is to create a
    track with that channel strip (eg Bus 1) so that the Library can
    display its options . But obviously if I select Bus 1 in the Arrange,
    then I no longer get any sound while I play.

    Is there any way to keep my Thru channel/instrument active while I
    browse another track's settings in Library? (There is no link button
    to engage/disengage)
Here's the answer which may be useful to other Logic 8 users:
    Select the Aux channel in the arrange window (it will display its
    options in the Media Browser)
    Click on the [Record] button of the instrument you want to hear (NOT
    the track name).
    You can now play your instrument, but use the browser on the aux
    channel (eg to test out reverbs/comps/etc)


Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:40 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:36 am
Posts: 13
The irony is that Logic Studio is now cheaper than Cubase, and you get alot more bang for your buck. Suppose you just need to factor in the price of a Mac. But if you actually compare the price of a similar spec PC to a Mac now with the intel chips, the Mac actually works out cheaper. So everyone should just get a Mac and Logic!


Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:08 pm
Profile
CASA maestro

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:05 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johannesburg
Post 
I have realised from discussions on various other forums that Logic 8's implementation of Track Automation is really powerful and possibly better than other similar apps.

Check it out for yourself:
Load a Logic instrument eg EXS24.
Click on the Automation button in the toolbar - the tracks "open up" and a flip menu appears on each track. By default, it says [Volume].
Click-hold and you'll se the usual parameters, plus [EXS24]
If you select this, you'll see further sub-menus like this:

Image

You can select any of hundreds of parameters to automate! Just go into the submenus.

But it gets better...
Switch the Automation button from [Off] to [Touch]
Image

Start recording and move any knob on the EXS24.
You'll see that the track Automation immediately finds the correct parameter and starts writing the Automation.

In this way, you have incredible control over all the nuances of your plugins. You can automate filters, volumes, LFO rates, reverb wet/dry settings, compression etc etc etc.

I also find that even with 3rd party plugins, Logic seems to automatically pick up all the "movable" controls and gives you instant access to them.

Enjoy...

Colin


Thu May 08, 2008 8:58 pm
Profile WWW
CASA maestro

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:05 am
Posts: 428
Location: Johannesburg
Post 
It's been a long while since there were new Logic tips here....

Logic users should visit Eli Krantzberg's website where he has many pages of useful stuff:

http://www.elikrantzberg.com/Logic/Archive.html

Enjoy....


Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:19 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.